The prestigious Place Vendôme, home to some of the most prominent names in high-end jewelry, is a place steeped in historical and political meaning. In 1907, Chaumet moved into the Baudard de Saint-James town house located at number 12. It is within these walls that some of the most exquisite jewels have been created.
Today, the House’s headquarters accommodate both the design studio and the fine jewelry workshop. At the same address, above the flagship boutique which showcases the brand’s current collections, Chaumet’s historical collections are expertly and lovingly housed. This ensemble of beautifully archived pieces is exhibited in three salons with a rich history - one of them being the place where Napoléon III first met his future wife, Eugénie.
The oldest of the three, the Grand Salon, was designed in 1777 by the architect François-Joseph Bélanger and has been listed as a historic monument since 1927. The perfectly proportioned room features rigorously symmetrical doors and windows and is lined by façade-inspired Corinthian columns reflected into infinity by a play of mirrors. It was here that Chopin spent his final hours and where he composed his last, unfinished work, Mazurka, Op. 68, No. 4.
The Salon des Diadèmes displays the House’s historic collections, including diadems fashioned out of nickel silver – the last step before final production of the piece in the fine jewelry workshop. Breathtaking pieces such as the ruby and diamond parure that once belonged to the Empress Marie Louise are displayed alongside the Belle Epoque Bourbon-Parma tiara.
The third salon, the Salon des Perles, dates back to 1855 and was initially used as a dining room. A spectacular chimney and elaborately carved woodwork highlight a painted ceiling attributed to the French decorative artist Pierre-Victor Galland.
Three salons, three rooms overflowing with history, three settings of stunning beauty – an outstanding place for an exceptional House.