LVMH announces the list of the 8 finalists and the Jury of the 2019 LVMH Prize for young fashion designers



The new edition of the LVMH Prize was a resounding success, with over 1,700 applicants from more than 100 countries, spread over all continents, a record since its launch 6 years ago.

8 designers  were selected by 63 international fashion experts among the 20 semi-finalists who presented their collections in Paris on March 1st and 2nd.

These 8 young designers will take part in the final of the LVMH Prize to be held at the Fondation Louis Vuitton. They will present their collections to the members of the jury who will choose this year’s winner.

The 8 finalists are:

ANREALAGE by Kunihiko Morinaga (Japanese designer, based in Tokyo).
Womenswear, showing in Paris.

BETHANY WILLIAMS by Bethany Williams (British designer, based in London).
Gender-neutral fashion, showing in London.

BODE by Emily Adams Bode (American designer, based in New York).

Menswear, showing in New York.

HED MAYNER by Hed Mayner (Israeli designer, based in Tel Aviv).

Gender-neutral fashion, showing in Paris.

KENNETH IZE by Kenneth Izedonmwen (Nigerian designer, based in Lagos).

Gender-neutral fashion, showing in Paris and Lagos.

PHIPPS by Spencer Phipps (American designer, based in Paris).

Gender-neutral fashion, showing in Paris.

STEFAN COOKE by Stefan Cooke and Jake Burt (British designers, based in London).

Menswear, showing in London.

THEBE MAGUGU by Thebe Magugu (South African designer, based in Johannesburg).

Womenswear, showing in Johannesburg.


Finalists of the 2019 LVMH Prize for young fashion designers © DR

Delphine Arnault declares: “The diversity and the richness of the collections of the sixth edition of the LVMH Prize confirm the quality of the selection, which made the choice of our 63 experts hard on March 1st and 2nd. I would like to congratulate the 20 semi-finalists for their talent and their commitment. I wish to thank all the fashion experts involved in the semi-final. This edition notably establishes the emergence of environmental and sustainable issues among the applicants.

The final shortlist of the Prize highlights gender-neutral collections with 4 designers presenting creations that can be worn by both women and men. Among the other finalists, 2 design womenswear and 2 menswear.

Furthermore, I am delighted to welcome for the first time at this stage of the competition 1 Israeli designer and 2 African designers, from Nigeria and South Africa.

I wish all the finalists good luck: the Jury will most likely find it hard to narrow down the selection on the occasion of the final to be held at the Fondation Louis Vuitton.

Besides, I am pleased to announce the arrival this year of Kris Van Assche as a member of the Jury of the Prize. Finally, I feel compelled to spare a heartfelt thought for Karl Lagerfeld. A creative genius, a unique mind, profoundly inspirational for those of us lucky enough to work side by side with him on the Jury. We are extremely grateful to him for his support of young designers and for his remarkable contribution to the success of the LVMH Prize, which will not be quite the same without him.”

Last but not least, the applications for the Prize for Young Fashion Graduates remain open until May 15, 2019. It gives three young graduates the opportunity to join one of the Houses of the Group for one year.

Online applications for young fashion designers: from December 15, 2018 until February 4, 2019

Semi-final and selection by the experts of the eight finalists: March 1st and 2nd, 2019

Online applications for young fashion graduates: from December 15, 2018 until May 15, 2019

Final and announcement of the winners of the Prize: June 2019



Jonathan Anderson, Artistic Director of Loewe

Kris Van Assche, Artistic Director of Berluti

Maria Grazia Chiuri, Artistic Director of Christian Dior Couture

Nicolas Ghesquière, Artistic Director of Louis Vuitton

Marc Jacobs, Artistic Director of Marc Jacobs

Humberto Leon, Artistic Director of Kenzo

Carol Lim, Artistic Director of Kenzo

Clare Waight Keller, Artistic Director of Givenchy

Delphine Arnault, Executive Vice-President of Louis Vuitton

Jean-Paul Claverie, Advisor to Bernard Arnault and Director of Corporate Sponsorship at LVMH

Sidney Toledano, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Fashion Group.

Jury of the 2019 LVMH Prize for young fashion designers © DR