LVMH announces the winners of the 2018 LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers



The jury of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers that includes eight artistic directors from Houses of the LVMH group – J.W. Anderson (Loewe), Maria Grazia Chiuri (Dior), Nicolas Ghesquière (Louis Vuitton), Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs), Clare Waight Keller (Givenchy), Karl Lagerfeld (Fendi), Humberto Leon and Carol Lim (Kenzo) – as well as Delphine Arnault (Executive Vice-President of Louis Vuitton), Jean-Paul Claverie (advisor to Bernard Arnault) and Sidney Toledano (Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of LVMH Fashion Group), have named Masayuki Ino for Doublet as the recipient of the 2018 LVMH Prize.

©Benoit Peverelli

Masayuki Ino will receive a 300,000-euro grant. Moreover, Masayuki Ino will enjoy a one-year mentoring program provided by a dedicated LVMH team.

Emma Stone, a great actress whose talent is applauded worldwide, Jaden Smith, a young multi-talented artist, both of them fashion enthusiasts, honoured us with their exceptional presence and presented the two Prize trophies, designed by Jean-Michel Othoniel.

In recognition of the incredible talent competing this year, the jury has decided to award a Special Prize to Rok Hwang for Rokh.

Rok Hwang wins a 150,000-euro grant and a one-year mentoring programme from LVMH.

Delphine Arnault states: “We were impressed by the contemporary resourcefulness that instills Masayuki Ino’s designs with an urban touch infused with fresh poetry. We have also awarded a Special Prize to Rok Hwang for. We were seduced by Rok Hwang’s designs, by his feminine, sensuous and empowering creations and by his command of complex pattern-making. The fifth edition of the LVMH Prize saw over 1,300 young talents from more than 90 countries compete. This success is evidence of the international scope of the event. I’m proud that the LVMH Group has placed the spotlight on their work and supports their development.”

©Benoit Peverelli

Furthermore, three young graduates from fashion schools were distinguished:

  • Archie M. Alled-Martinez, a graduate from Central Saint Martins, who joins the House of Givenchy.
  • Maya Chantout, a graduate from the Ecole de la Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisiennewho joins the House of Céline.
  • Scylia Chevaux, a graduate from the Accademia Costume & Modawho joins the House of Louis Vuitton.

They will each receive 10,000 euro and will join three Houses of the LVMH group for one year. Furthermore, the universities they attended will each receive 10,000 euro in support of the academic staff and in support of schools that promote the renewal of fashion and foster excellence.

Last year, French designer Marine Serre was the recipient of the LVMH Prize and a Special Prize Prix was awarded to Japanese designer Kozaburo Akasaka.

The LVMH Prize will be renewed in 2019.

©Sølve Sundsbø