LVMH Prize: the finalists revealed



In February, 30 semi-finalists selected from over 1200 candidates had an opportunity to present their collections at the showroom created at the headquarters of the LVMH group in Paris. Twelve of them who remained in contention are set to return to Paris on May 28 to showcase their collection before the jury who will elect the laureate of the 2014 edition of the LVMH Young Fashion Designer Prize.

“Choosing ten of them is one thing. Choosing one? An almost impossible mission”, said Fabien Baron, world-renown photographer and Editorial Director Interview magazine. Truly, the choice of the finalists came to be a difficult decision. After much deliberation, the selection committee came up with an unexpected shortlist of 12 designers instead of the originally-intended 10.

Creative directors of 7 fashion Houses of the LVMH Hroup as well as Delphine Arnault , Jean-Paul Claverie and Pierre-Yves Roussel are part of the illustrious Jury of the Prize. Delphine Arnault states: “The LVMH Prize finalists reflect the vitality and diversity of young fashion today. The singularity as well as the high level of quality of their collections particularly impressed the experts. I wish them the best of luck for the last step that awaits them which will be highly emotional.”

The twelve designers are now requested to come back to Paris on May 28th to meet the members of the jury who will elect the winner of the LVMH Prize for Young Designers 2014 edition. Starting from March 17th the LVMH Prize website will be publishing weekly video portrait specials about each finalist.

The 12 finalists are:

Atto (Julien Dossena, French, based in Paris)

CG (Chris Gelinas, Canadian, based in New York)

Gabriele Colangelo (Gabriele Colangelo, Italian, based in Milan)

Hood By Air (Shayne Olivier, American, based in New York)

Jacquemus (Simon Porte Jacquemus, French, based in Paris)

Miuniku (Tina and Nikita Sutradhar, Indian, based in Mumbaï)

Simone Rocha (Simone Rocha, Irish, based in London)

Suno (Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis, American, based in New York)

Thomas Tait (Thomas Tait, Canadian, based in London)

Tillmann Lauterbach (Tillmann Lauterbach, German, based in Paris)

Tim Coppens (Tim Coppens, Belgian, based in New York)

Vika Gazinskaya (Vika Gazinskaya, Russian, based in Moscow)